So I was walking out to the mall parkinglot today after work with a few of my barista coworkers and my openly gay assistant manager. Someone had brought up SF and how everyone there is either gay, ghetto, or a druggie. "I was all three," I said jokingly. But it sorta upset me to hear these judgements, especially coming from a gay coworker.
"I miss SF.... I miss the lifestyle..."
I know I didnt actually live there, but it was nice to be so close. I was like a Jekyl and Hyde. By day I was a San Mateo resident, walking my dog and visiting coffee shops. By night (well, some nights), I was lurking the streets and bars from Burlingame to SF, hitting an italian cafe for cioppini or having some midnight japanese deserts, or getting way too drunk to drive home but doing it anyway.
Maybe it was the lack of responsibility that I liked most (though i faintly remember wishing I had something better to do.. like homework. A note to self: be careful for what you wish for!). But nothing beats morning walks in half moon bay. Or staying up late watching the lights from planes fly into SF bay. Cigarette breaks with friends, 4am card games, Bj's pizookies and beer. I sometimes wonder if the trade was worth it...
I need to make it worth it.
No comments:
Post a Comment